Three Countries in 1 Second

In the movie A Walk to Remember, I liked the part where Landon Carter asked Jamie Sullivan to stand on a street and told her that they were at 2 places at the same time. I thought it was cool and need to experience it also.

tumblr_n9llsvhulr1r2efbpo1_2502
photo of rebloggy.com

Europe has lots of borders like Italy and France or Germany and Poland. I searched for places where I can be at two places at once. I found out that some border points are on top of the mountain or are too far from the places I’ll visit.

Luckily, a couchsurfer friend told me to visit him in Maastricht, Netherlands before heading to Holland to see the tulip fields.

At first, I was hesitant to go because I wanted to spend more time in Belgium but when he said that he can take me to Vaalsburg where I can be at three countries at the same time; I changed my itinerary right away and included Maastricht.

Maastricht is 40 minutes away from Vaalsburg. I’m happy that I was able to squeeze my itinerary and went to the tripoint.

img_7714
Flags of Germany, Netherlands and Belgium

Tripoint is where three borders meet. The place in Vaalsburg is called Drielandenpunt or three-country point in Dutch, Dreiländereck in German and Trois Frontières in French. It is where Netherlands, Belgium and Germany meet. There’s a big marker with engraved letters NI (Netherlands), B (Belgium), D (Germany) and three flags behind it.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR4221.
“A Stand to Remember” with Luca and Nicol

img_7322

img_7319

Near the tripoint, you can also climb a 50-metre high tower called Baudouin Tower; you can see a panoramic view of the three countries. The entrance fee is €3.50.

img_7750

img_7314

img_7717

img_7718

Aside from climbing the tower, you can also visit the Labyrint Drielandenpunt

img_7716

Here’s a short video I took from the tower where you can see Netherlands, Belgium, and Germany.

Three Country Border from Carla Feria on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

