Leaning in Pisa

The Cathedral Square in Pisa was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. I decided to go here to see the famous Leaning Tower of Pisa, an iconic landmark that was part of a poster my friends made for me during my send off.

img_3126

Pisa is one hour away from Florence, a short ride with a scenic view. Before I left Santa Maria Novella Station in Florence, I used the free wifi of Feltrinelli (bookshop) located at the train station (their wifi has more signal than other establishments) and searched for the map of Pisa. I arrived at the small city and started to navigate how to go to Piazza dei Miracoli, where the Leaning Tower is.

 

pisa-6

I cannot remember how I arrived at the Piazza. I’m a bad map reader so I just asked people on the way on how to get there. All I recall is that I crossed the bridge in the Arno River.

pisa-1

Then I passed by Scuola Normale

pisa-19

pisa-2

Finally, I arrived at Piazza dei Miracoli or Square of Miracles.

DCIM101GOPROGOPR2951.
Square of Miracles
pisa-16
Pisa Cathedral
pisa-12
Pisa Cathedral

DCIM101GOPROGOPR2987.

For €18 or ₱936+ (depends on the exchange rate), you can climb the Leaning Tower. If you want to go inside this miraculous monument, I suggest to book Tickets online to secure a slot since access here is strictly limited.

pisa-9
Leaning Tower of Pisa

pisa-10

pisa-14
Baptistery

pisa-13pisa-15

On my way back to Pisa Centrale train station, I saw a tiger circling around with horses on a carousel 😉

pisa

I arrived in Florence station and went to Piazza Santa Croce and waited for my host to decide on where to have dinner. We agreed to eat at Gusta Osteria near Piazza Santo Spirito.

pisa-7
Piazza Santa Croce

I passed by Ponte della Grazie on my way there and saw how the sun turned the sky into a strawberry mango smoothie. The colors are dramatic and I am amazed by the majestic view.

florence-1
Sunset at Ponte Vecchio

 

* My couchsurfing host works with roomwithview, you can check the site if you’re planning to stay in Florence for a long time. 🙂

 

Stay tuned for more posts about my travel experiences in Italy.

 

5 thoughts on “Leaning in Pisa

Leave a Reply

